United Football League (UFL) Created From The XFL/USFL Merger 

The deal is done and approved, the XFL and USFL will merge to form the 2024 United Football League. As a result of the merger, several USFL teams and a few XFL teams will be dropped to create the eight-team league. 

The UFL has confirmed that coaches and teams are set in stone and that four XFL and four USFL coaches will lead the teams in the new league. 

2024 UFL Teams

Eight markets in the eastern and central time zones will form the new United Football League and begin play on March 30th. The first game will be between the Arlington Renegades and the Birmingham Stallions. The teams will play a 10-game regular season, a playoff, and a championship. 

The teams and coaches that will make up the inaugural UFL league will consist of the following: 

XFL Conference:

  • Arlington Renegades: Bob Stoops
  •  D.C. Defenders: Reggie Barlow
  •  San Antonio Brahmas: Wade Phillips
  •  St. Louis Battlehawks: Anthony Becht

USFL Conference: 

  • Birmingham Stallions: Skip Holtz
  •  Houston Roughnecks: Curtis Johnson
  •  Memphis Showboats: John DeFilippo
  •  Michigan Panthers: Mike Nolan

Betting On The UFL

There are currently no betting lines on the UFL as news of the league has just been announced, but we expect betting to play an essential role in the new football league. The XFL was the first American football league to accept betting openly. Bettors can still bet on the XFL conference once betting lines become available.  

XFL odds will include game lines, futures, and props. US-based bettors can place bets at domestic casinos and online with offshore sportsbooks. Only a handful of states offer online sports betting, but that could change as more states pass sports betting laws. 

Postseason Odds For USFL and XFL Conferences

Betting on the XFL postseason will continue with conference playoffs leading to the UFL Championship. Since the league is broken into two conferences, the XFL and USFL will both have a postseason leading to the UFL Championship game. The postseason dates have yet to be confirmed, but they will follow the regular 10-game season.

A lot about the UFL league is still unknown concerning which rules they will adopt. The XFL had different options for teams where they could go for a 1, 2, or 3-point extra point after a touchdown. You can learn more about the differences between the USFL and XFL with our guide explaining the rules and differences. Both leagues have adopted many rules from the NFL but also have variations to those rules, which are intended to improve the game.